PABC Awards of Excellence

Applications for the 2023 Awards Season will open on January 1st, 2023. 

PABC Annual Awards of Excellence

The Spirit of the Awards

PABC believes that members who make outstanding contributions to the profession should be recognized and honoured by their professional association and their peers. The PABC Public Practice Award provides a way for physiotherapists who are leading the way in clinical care, development of the profession, or research, to be acknowledged and acclaimed by their professional community.

The Awards Categories

  1. Lifetime Accomplishment

  2. Leadership

  3. Clinical Contribution

  4. Professional Contribution

The Awards Criteria

1. Lifetime Accomplishment Award

This award recognizes physiotherapists who have made ongoing contributions to the physiotherapy profession throughout their career (for a period of at least 25 years). Contributions may be in a variety of spheres, including but not limited to, one or more of the following:

  • Leadership that supports growth of and/or public or stakeholder awareness of the profession.
  • Education / Mentorship of students or clinicians.
  • Advancement of the profession, including contribution to evidence-informed practice, increasing the body of knowledge, or expanding the scope and/or role of the profession.
  • Excellence in clinical practice.
  • Involvement in and/or support of professional association activities.

2. Leadership Award

This award recognizes physiotherapists who have provided exceptional leadership to the profession for a period of at least 4 years. Excellence in leadership may include:

  • Involvement in activities that support, enhance, or develop political / public awareness of physiotherapists as core members of the healthcare team.
  • Motivating and mentoring others, including colleagues and peers.
  • Innovation and creativity in issues related to clinical practice.
  • Significant involvement in professional activities, internal and external to the workplace.

3. Clinical Contribution Award

This award recognizes physiotherapists who have consistently demonstrated excellence in clinical practice over a period of at least 4 years. Excellence in clinical contribution may include:

  • Recognition as a leader in the area of the candidate’s clinical specialty.
  • Acting as a resource for others (e.g.: students, other health professionals, clients, or the public), and sharing knowledge with colleagues through various means (e.g.; lectures, articles, in-service education etc.).
  • Making an innovation or unique contribution to the field.
  • Demonstrating an evidence-based and analytical approach to patient care through innovative assessment and treatment techniques.

4. Professional Contribution

This award recognizes physiotherapists who have made a significant impact on the profession in BC. Nominations should include specific activities that have contributed to, or assisted in, attaining the goals of PABC. Excellence in professional contribution include (but are not limited to):

  • Service on PABC Board / District executive; committees, task forces, working groups, projects, and volunteering to assist with events and activities.
  • Contribution to increasing awareness of physiotherapy issues within the profession.
  • Increasing the body of knowledge of the profession through research or knowledge translation.
  • Contribution to the education of others (Contributions may be in any educational setting related to physiotherapy (e.g.: undergraduate / graduate education, client education, continuing professional development, support worker education).

Candidate Selection

  • The PABC Awards Committee will review the nominations and make the selection.
  • Selection will be made based upon information provided to the committee. No additional information will be sought.
  • If in a calendar year there are no suitable nominations, no award will be declared.

Presentation and Form of Award

In 2023, the Awards Ceremony will take place in-person at the Eldorado and Manteo Resort at the BC Physiotherapy Conference 2023 in Kelowna on April 29th, 2023.  Recipients will receive a certificate.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations to include:

  • A completed nomination form (see below).
  • A nomination letter from a current PABC member (maximum 4 pages) must include the following criteria:
  • Include as much background information about the candidate as possible.
  • Explain in detail why the candidate deserves the award. Please provide detailed examples of the types of activities, programs, etc. in which the nominee has been involved and provide specific information that supports the candidate’s nomination for the award.
  • Provide any relevant quotes surrounding the nominee and or the nominee’s achievements.
  • At least 2 one-page letters of support from PABC members. Up to 3 additional letters of support from non-physiotherapists may be submitted, for example from patients, clients, or inter-professional team members.
  • Any other relevant documentation (e.g.; copies of published articles, newspaper reports, letters of appreciation, previous citations, or any other evidence of the nominee's contribution and excellence).
  • Note: Candidates must be current PABC members; retired members are also eligible.

Nominator Eligibility

  • Nominators must be members of PABC.
  • Candidates must be current or retired members of CPA-PABC.
  • Candidates must have been practicing and been active in the profession for at least 4 years.

Nomination Form


hbspt.forms.create({ region: "na1", portalId: "20901906", formId: "b424457b-64f3-4925-9f75-aaeaec367864" });

Award recipients and their nominators will be notified within 1 month following the nomination deadline. More than one award may be given in any of the categories each year. No award will be declared in a category if there is no strong nomination.

Past Recipients 

Lifetime Accomplishment 

2022 ~ Carol Kennedy

2021 ~ Susan Murphy
2020 ~ Patricia Grohne
2017 ~ Sarah Rowe 
2016 ~ Clyde Smith 
2014 ~ Klari Varallyai 


2022 ~ Igor Kharif 

2021 ~ Edwin Betinol
2020 ~ Natasha Wilch
2020 ~ Laura Patrick
2018 ~ Jason Coolen 
2017 ~ Anne Rankin 
2014 ~ Teresa Francis 
2014 ~ Scott Brolin 
2009 ~ Nancy Cho 
2008 ~ Scott Brolin 
2007 ~ Perry Strauss 
2006 ~ Brenda Loveridge 
2006 ~ Kathy Doull
2005 ~ Bill MacDonald 
2004 ~ Pat Lieblich 
2004 ~ Penny Wilson 
2004 ~ Sue Murphy 
2004 ~ Susan Jorden 
2003 ~ Gabriele Yoneda 
2002 ~ Liz Aubert 

Clinic Contribution 

2020 ~ Silvana Echeverri
2019 ~ Sudarshan (Sid) Anandkumar 
2017 ~ Roland Fletcher 
2015 ~ Natalie Grant 
2014 ~ Steve Young 
2011 ~ Debra Treloar 
2010 ~ Neil Pearson 
2008 ~ Darryl Caves 
2007 ~ Carl Petersen 
2007 ~ Margaret Harris 
2007 ~ Jacek Kobza 
2005 ~ Carol Kennedy 
2003 ~ Moya Stokes 

Professional Contribution 

2022 ~ JF Esculier

2021 ~ Linda-Joy Lee
2018 ~ Andrea Reid 
2017 ~ Nancy Cho 
2015 ~ Sue Peters – Promising Young Professional
2015 ~ Jo Moorhen 
2014 ~ Robin Roots 
2012 ~ Marj Belot 
2012  ~Tanya Kessling 
2012 ~ Terry Fedorkiw
2010 ~ Kathy Davidson 
2010 ~ Scotty McVicar 
2009 ~ Dr. Brenda Loveridge 
2009 ~ Tanja Yardley 
2008 ~ Chris Palmer 
2006 ~ Anne Linton
2006 ~ Randy Goodman 
2003 ~ Marc Rizzardo